What Disability Services Are Available in Australia? An Overview of NDIS Supports

Disability Services

Share This Post

Exploring disability support services in Australia reveals a diverse landscape shaped by individual needs. With each person’s disability journey unique, various services have emerged to cater to these requirements. 

From respite care and home modifications to psychological support and social groups, these services enhance the lives of individuals, their families, and caregivers. 

Understanding the breadth of available services is essential for those seeking support, and this blog aims to provide insights into the various disability support services in Australia. By offering a comprehensive overview, we aim to guide individuals and their support networks in discovering the diverse avenues available for a more enriching and fulfilling life.

What is The NDIS?

The National Disability Insurance Scheme (NDIS) is a crucial part of disability support in Australia, replacing the National Disability Agreement. It aims to provide essential and personalised support to Australians with significant disabilities, helping them participate in everyday life. 

With over 500,000 participants, the NDIS covers various services like daily living assistance, therapy, transport aid, and community programs. It’s a positive step forward, offering more choices and control for individuals. 

Beyond funding, the NDIS connects people to community services, ensuring access to doctors, support groups, schools, and more. For approximately 80,000 children with developmental delays, early support is provided for better lifelong outcomes.

Eligibility for the NDIS:

To access the National Disability Insurance Scheme (NDIS), you should:

  • Be between 9 and 65 years old.
  • Have Australian citizenship, permanent residency, or a Protected Special Category Visa.
  • Live in Australia.
  • Have a permanent disability covering various types.
  • Need disability-specific support for daily life activities.
  • If you’re under 9, there’s support through early childhood partners.


If you’re not eligible due to age or residency, local area coordinators can connect you with alternative support. The NDIS aims to help individuals and families feel stronger, included, and able to do things independently.

What disability services and supports are covered under NDIS?

Participants within the National Disability Insurance Scheme (NDIS) receive funding in their plans to access services and supports considered ‘reasonable and necessary’ for pursuing their goals. These supports fall into 15 categories, each designed with a specific purpose. These are discussed below:

1. Assistance with Daily Life

Assistance with Daily Life under the NDIS is a lifeline for participants seeking support with routine tasks. From personal hygiene to household chores, this service ensures individuals can navigate daily activities independently.

2. Transport Assistance

Transportation is a key factor in fostering independence. The NDIS provides funding to aid participants in accessing necessary travel, whether for medical appointments, social engagements, or employment-related journeys.

3. Consumables

Under this category, participants receive support for essential items related to managing their disability, including personal care products, continence items, and nutrition-related supplies.

4. Assistance with Social & Community Participation

Social inclusion is at the forefront of this support. Participants benefit from assistance engaging with community activities, events, and programs, promoting a sense of belonging and connection.

5. Assistive Technology

Assistive Technology opens doors to greater independence. From mobility aids to specialised computer software, participants receive funding for devices and equipment tailored to their specific needs.

6. Home Modifications

Home Modifications go beyond physical changes to a participant’s residence; they’re about creating spaces that enhance accessibility and independence, ensuring homes are a haven of support.

 7. Supports Coordination

Coordinators play a crucial role in helping participants manage their support plans. From connecting with service providers to organising appointments, coordination ensures the effective execution of the participant’s plan.

8. Improved Living Arrangements

This support category focuses on enhancing living conditions. Participants may receive assistance moving to a new residence or modifying their current home to suit their needs better.

9. Increased Social and Community Participation

Building on social inclusion, this support encourages participants to actively engage in community activities actively, fostering relationships and a sense of community belonging.

10. Finding and Keeping a Job

For those pursuing employment goals, the NDIS supports job-seeking skills training, workplace modifications, and assistance in maintaining employment.

11. Improved Relationships

Improving Relationships empowers participants with skills and assistance to cultivate meaningful connections with family, friends, and the broader community.

12. Improved Health and Wellbeing

This support promotes overall health, including funding for exercise programs, dietary advice, and access to health-related services to enhance the participant’s general well-being.

13. Improved Learning

Geared towards educational goals, this support may include assistance with course fees, specialised learning materials, and support workers to aid in the learning process.

14. Improved Life Choices

Participants can make choices aligned with their goals through decision-making, personal responsibility, and self-advocacy skill development.

15. Improved Daily Living

Enhancing daily life, this support covers a broad spectrum of services, including personal care and domestic tasks, and supports participation in community activities.

For further insights, visit the Disability Gateway, a valuable website provided by the Australian Government. Here, you can access detailed information about disability services pertinent to your specific needs.


Related:  Good Examples Of NDIS Goals For Autism


What services and assistance are not covered by the NDIS?

According to the NDIS Act and Rules, the NDIS clearly outlines the types of supports that are not eligible for funding. Support will not receive funding if it:

  • is unrelated to the participant’s disability,
  • duplicates other supports already provided through different NDIS funding streams,
  • pertains to day-to-day living costs that are not directly linked to a participant’s support needs,
  • has the potential to cause harm to the participant or pose a risk to others,
  • can be more suitably and effectively delivered by another system, such as health or education services.

Wrap Up!

NDIS Saupport Australia

Navigating Australia’s disability support services is made simpler through the National Disability Insurance Scheme (NDIS). Covering a broad spectrum from daily living to health services, the NDIS empowers individuals for fulfilling lives. 

As a trusted NDIS provider in Sydney, Easy M Care offers personalised assistance, ensuring simplicity in understanding and accessing these vital supports. If you need guidance, reach out to Easy M Care to simplify the complexities of disability services and promote independence.


Related Posts